South Africans Dominate Comrades 2015

Print page

The 2015 Comrades Marathon belonged to South Africa with Gift Kelehe and Caroline Wostmann claiming the men and women’s titles on Sunday. Six South Africans finished in the top ten of the men and four in the women.

Photo: Comrades on Twitter

Photo: Comrades on Twitter

The 2015 Comrades Marathon “up-run” from Durban to Pietermaritzburg was the ninetieth edition of the race. This is the first time since 1992 that South Africans have won both the men and women’s races and it was the first South African female winner since Rae Bisschoff in 1998.

Kelehe finished the slightly longer (by 800 metres) 87.7km in a time of 5:38:36 while Wostmann ran the distance in 6:12:22, approximately three minutes short of the up-run record set by Elena Nugralieva. She also reportedly ran the final 8km faster than Kelehe.

It was indeed a day for the history books as Kelehe’s older brother, Andrew Kelehe, won the race in 2001, the first time in the history of the race that brothers have won.

Photo: Comdrades Marathon Twitter feed.

Photo: Comdrades Marathon Twitter feed.

Women’s winner Caroline Wostmann also won the Old Mutual Two Oceans Marathon earlier this year. Second in the women’s race went to fellow South African Charne Bosman. Both women are coached by Runner’s World contributor Lindsey Parry. The Russian twins, Elena and Olesya Nurgalieva finished third and fourth respectively.

For an exclusive interview with the women’s winner, Caroline Wostmann, pick up the latest copy of Runner’s World.

1. Gift Kalehe (RSA) – 05:38:36
2. Mohammed Husein (ETH) – 05:46:14
3. Hatiwande Nayamande (RSA) – 05:48:19
4. Lebohang Monyele (LES) – 05:52:32
5. Teboho Selo (LES) – 05:54:03
6. Joseph Mphuthi (RSA) – 05:54:29
7. Claude Moshiywa (RSA) – 05:55:17
8. Stephen Muzhingi (ZIM) – 05:56:36
9. Sandile Ngunuza (RSA) – 05:57:08
10. Thuso Mosiea (RSA) – 05:59:08

1. Caroline Wostmann (RSA) – 06:12:22
2. Charne Bosman (RSA) – 06:33:24
3. Elena Nurgalieva (RUS) – 06:40:36
4. Olesya Nurgavieva (RUS) – 06:41:18
5. Nina Podnebesnova (RUS) – 06:41:48
6. Eleanor Greenwood (GBR) – 06:44:03
7. Emmerentia Rautenbach (RSA) – 06:45:22
8. Joasia Zakrzewski (GBR) – 07:00:45
9. Simona Staicu (HUN) – 07:01:14
10. Yolandi Maclean (RSA) – 07:01:49.

Avatar of Runners World

About Runners World

Online Editor for Runner's World magazine

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply